Dean's Day 2018 IDM departmental award recipients


This year, the Department of Infectious Diseases and Microbiology awarded three prizes: two master's-level and one PhD award.

This year's winner for the MPH category is Kelsey Messerschmidt (MPH '19). She presented a poster on A logistical review of points-of-dispensing sites in Allegheny County. 

Bethany Flage (MS '18) and Roberta Mettus (MS '19) tied in the MS category. Flage presented a poster on Heme induced acute lung injury by inflammasome activation in vascular endothelial cells, and Mettus on Role of pmrCAB expression in colistin resistance of Acinetobacter baumannii.

For the doctoral category, this year's winner is Renee Anderko (PHD '22). She presented a poster on Optimizing Antigen Presenting Dendritic Cells for an International HIV Immunotherapy.

Dean's Day is an annual student research competition. Students present their research during multiple poster sessions while faculty members judge presentations for prizes and students evaluate posters for Grand Rounds credit. The Dean invites selected presenters to give oral presentations of their work during the awards ceremony.

Visit the to learn more about the competition and see a full list of winners.


Search for an Article