Public Health Leader in Residence

A Resource for MPH Students’ Professional and Career Development

The public health leader-in-residence (PHLIR) enhances MPH students’ contact with and knowledge about the world of practice.

Anticipated Activities

  • One or two career development group meetings (e.g. with mock interviews) with students
  • One or two lunch and learn lectures by the PHLIR regarding leadership, professional development and public health practice
  • Individual career counseling meetings as requested
  • The PHLIR is an ex officio member of the National Advisory Committee (NAC) and will participate in the NAC annual meeting
  • Meetings with the faculty and the PHLIR will be scheduled in order to bring the curriculum and research closer to the needs of the practice world

Minimize 2020–2022: Jason Orcena


Jason E. Orcena is the health commissioner of the Union County Health Department in Marysville, Ohio—a position he has held since 2008.  Prior to assuming this position, Dr. Orcena served as the division director for the Department’s Division of Health Education and Community Partnerships. He currently serves on the Board of Directors for the Health Policy Institute of Ohio, the Local Public Health Services Collaborative, LLC, and the Association of Ohio Health Commissioners, where he has also served as president. Dr. Orcena is an active member of the National Association of City/County Health Officials, serving on their Public Health Transformation Workgroup. He is a lecturer at The Ohio State University and his research interests include the governance and funding of public health. Most recently, he worked on Ohio’s new Public Health Alert Advisory System, a COVID-19 risk communication system.  Dr. Orcena received his Doctor of Public Health from the University of Illinois at Chicago (2015) and also holds a Masters of Arts in sociology (1999) and a Bachelor of Arts in psychology (1995). He is supported by Alycia, his partner of 25 years, and their two sons—Ben and Nicholas.

Maximize 2019–2020: Patricia Sweeney