Past Winners


Pitt Public Health’s 20th annual Dean’s Day Student Research Competition winners with Dean Burke.


Dean’s Day first place master’s: Vatsala Rangachar Srinivasa, IDM
Dean’s Day second place, master’s: Kelsea Lasorda, EPI
Dean’s Day third place, master’s: Hannah Bitzer, BCHS

Dean’s Day first place doctoral: Celeste Shelton, HUGEN
Dean’s Day second place, doctoral: Cristian Chandler, BCHS
Dean’s Day third place, doctoral: Candice Biernesser, BCHS

Delta Omega Poster Award for the best poster, as judged by the Omicron chapter of Delta Omega (with the opportunity to compete nationally for a chance to present the poster at the APHA annual meeting): Amrita Sahu, EOH

Rosenkranz Award for the project judged to be the most significant contribution to the public health field: Emmett Henderson, BCHS.

The Catherine Cartier-Ulrich Memorial Award for Service to the Underserved:
Emma Gossard, MPH student in BCHS
Lycia Tramujas Vasconcellos Neumann, PhD student in BCHS

The Center for Public Health Practice Award for Translation and Application of Research to Public Health Policy and Practice:
Yuae Park, PhD in BCHS.


BCHS Department Award, master’s category: William Louth-Marquez, MPH student
BCHS Department Award, doctoral category: Lycia Tramujas Vasconcellos Neumann, PhD student

BIOST Department Award: Joanne Beer, PhD student

EOH Keleti Award for excellence in environmental health: Rahel Birru, PhD student

EPIDEM Department Award, master’s category: Kathleen Maksimowcz-McKinnon, MPH student
EPIDEM Department Award, doctoral category: Christian Garcia, PhD student

HPM Department Awards,master’s category: Nina Yacovoni, MPH student
HPM Department Awards, doctoral category: Raymond Van Cleve, PhD student

HUGEN Department Awards,master’s category: Megan Hager, MS student
HUGEN Department Awards, doctoral category: Teresa Capasso, PhD student

IDM Department Awards, MPH category: Kelsey Messerschmidt, MPH student
IDM Department Awards, MS category: Bethany Flage and Roberta Mettus, MS students
IDM Department Awards, PhD category: Renee Anderko, PhD student


Master’s Level: John Wright Cordier, HPM student
Doctoral Level: Cristian Chandler, BCHS student

2018 Dean’s Day poster abstracts and session assignments

Maximize 2017 DEAN’S DAY WINNERS

Maximize 2016 Dean’s Day Winners

Maximize 2015 Dean’s Day Winners

Maximize 2014 Dean’s Day Winners

Maximize 2013 DEAN’S DAY WINNERS

Maximize 2012 Dean’s Day Winners

Maximize 2011 Dean’s Day Winners

Maximize 2010 DEAN’S DAY WINNERS

Maximize 2009 DEAN’S DAY WINNERS

Maximize 2008 DEAN’S DAY WINNERS

Maximize 2007 DEAN’S DAY WINNERS

Maximize 2006 DEAN’S DAY WINNERS

Maximize 2005 DEAN’S DAY WINNERS

Maximize 2004 DEAN’S DAY WINNERS

Maximize 2003 DEAN’S DAY WINNERS

Maximize 2002 DEAN’S DAY WINNERS

Maximize 2001 DEAN’S DAY WINNERS

Maximize 2000 DEAN’S DAY WINNERS

Maximize 1999 DEAN’S DAY WINNERS